Cosmographical account ||108||

1Fire-god said: The seven continents are Jambu, Plaksha, salmali, Kusa, Kraunca, Saka and Puskara.
2These continents are surrounded by seven oceans namely, Lavana (salt), Iksu (sugarcane juice), Sura (nectar), Sarpis (clarified butter), Dadhi (curd), Dugdha (milk) and Jala (water) of even proportions.
3The Jambudvipa (continent of Jambu) is situated at the centre of continents. The Meru mountain which is the kind of sixteen mountains towers majestically extending to eighty- four (jojanas).
4The mountain rises to thirty-two thousand (jojanas) above (the earth) and spreads to sixteen thousand (jojanas) under the earth. Its peaks are in the shape of a pericarp of a lotus.
5Himavan, Hemakuta and Nisadha are in the southern part. Nila, sveta and Sringi are the varmparvatas (boundary mountains) in the northern part.
6Two of the above (mountains) extend to two lakhs
(jojanas) at their middle, while the others are ten thousand (jojanas) less. Their altitude is two thousand and they have an equal breadth at the base.
7O Twice-born one! Bharata is the first mountain. Kimpurusa is known as the next one. Harivarsa is the next one to the south of Meru.
8Ramyaka, Hiranyaka and Uttara Kuru are in the north just as the Bharata (in the south).
9O Excellent sage! Each one of them is nine thousand (jojanas) in their extent. Ilavrita is at the middle. Meru rises up from the centre with its golden peak.
10O Fortunate one! Ilavrita spreads to nine thousand (jojanas) all around Meru. There are four mountains here.
11They are beams of support for the Meru, each one extending to one lakh (jojanas). (Among these) the Mandara (mountain) is in the east and the Gandhamadana is in the south.
12-13The Vipula (mountain) is in the west and the Suparsva (mountain) is in the north. The Kadamba, Jambu, Pippala and Vata are the trees in these extending to eleven hundred (jojanas) (serving as) their banners. Jambudvipa gets its appellation on account of the Jambu fruit of the size of an elephant.
14The waters of the river Jambu deposit the golden ores. The Suparsva (mountain lies) on the east of Meru and the Ketumala (mountain) on the west.
15The forest of Caitraratha (lies) on the east, Gandha- madana on the south, Vaibhraja on the west and Nandana on the north. (I shall describe) the lakes herein.
16They are) Arunoda, Mahabhadra, Sitoda, Manasa, Sitambha, Cakra and Munja. The mountains known as Kesara- cala^ are in the east.
17-18The mountains (called) Trikuta (group) lie on the south. The Sikhivasa (group) (lie) on the west. The Sahkhakuta (group) lie on the north. The abode of lord Brahma is on the Meru (mountain) extending to fourteen thousand above. (The abodes) of Indra and other guardian deities are around the abode of Brahma.
19The river Sita, after falling from the feet of (lord) Vishnu, washes the lunar region and falls- from heavens on the east (on the Bhadrasva mountain). It falls from Bhadrasva on the hills below successively and reaches the ocean.
20-21Similarly, (the river) Alakananda flows in Bharata through the south and reaches the ocean after dividing itself into seven branches. (The river) Caksu reaches the ocean on the west. So also (the river) Bhadra (passes through) the Uttara Kuru (country) and reaches the northern ocean. (The mountains) Malyavat and Gandhamadana extend up to the Nila and Nisadha (mountains in the north and south respectively).
22-27The Meru (mountain) lies in between them in the shape of a lotus, (The countries) Bharata, Ketumala, Bhadrasva, and Kurus situated outside these boundary mountains are the petals of this lotus of the world. The two boundary mountains Jathara and Devakuta extend up to the Nila and Nisadha mountains on the north and south. The Gandhamadana and Kailasa (mountains) spreading in the east and west to eighty yojanas lie in the ocean. The two boundary mountains Nisadha and Pariyatra are situated on the west as in the east. (Similarly), the boundary mountains Jathara and others (are situated) around Meru in four directions.
28O Excellent sage! Abodes of (goddess) Lakshmi, (lords) Vishnu, Agni and Surya and other gods are situated in the caves in the mountains Kesara and others.
29-30They are the abodes of gods on the earth. Sinners do not go there. Lord Vishnu resides in Bhadrasva as Hayagriva, in Ketumala as Varaha, in Bharata in the form of Kurma (tortoise) and in Kurus in the form of Matsya (fish). Lord Hari is worshipped everywhere in his universal form.
31In the eight countries Kimpurusa and others, there is no (misery such as) hunger, fear, grief and others. The twenty- four thousand inhabitants live without diseases.
32There is no imaginary division of time such as the Krita (yuga) etc., the division of worlds, waters and clouds. There are seven principal mountains in each one of these countries.
33Hundreds of rivers rise from them giving rise to sacred waters. I shall describe the sacred spots situated in Bharata.