The Strength of Signs ||1||

1Victory unto the Sun, treasure-house of (brilliant) rays, to whom, at the occasions of his rising and setting, (even) lord Shiva (the three-eyed), whose feet are rubbed by the crowns of the gods, with folded hands offers worship.
2Herein I present the essence, in the “Arya” metre, of the (larger) Hora text which I have compiled after a careful study of the classics.
3This branch of science (the Hora Shastra) reveals the good and bad results earned as fruits of Karmas done in past lives, just like a (glowing) lamp (reveals) the objects placed in darkness.
4The (twelve) Rashi s from Mesha onwards are the head, mouth (face), upper limbs, heart, (upper) abdomen, waist, lower abdomen, private parts, thighs, knees, legs and feet (of the Kalapurusha).
5One should take into consideration the body parts of the Kalapurusha at the time of a native’s birth. The body parts represented by Rashi s associated with benefics are healthy while those represented by Rashi s associated with malefics are diseased.
6The colours represented by the twelve Rashi s are: red (Mesha or Aries), white (Vrisha or Taurus), green (Mithuna or Gemini), pink (Karka or Cancer), pale (Simha or Leo), variegated (Kanya or Virgo), black (Tula or Libra), brownish (Vrishchika or Scorpio), tawny (Dhanu or Sagittarius), grey (Makara or Capricorn), of the colour of a mongoose (Kumbha or Aquarius), and dirty (Meena or Pisces).
7(The signs from Mesha taken in order are:) male-female, malefic-benefic, and movable-fixed-dual. Mesha, Vrisha, Mithuna and Karka, and their respective fifth and ninth signs represent the directions from east onwards.
8Of the (twelve) Rashi s and the Navamshas, starting from Mesha, the respective lords are Mars, Venus, Mercury, Moon, Sun, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Saturn and Jupiter. In the different signs, starting from the sign Mesha, the (nine) Navamshas (in each sign) commence from Mesha, Makara, Tula and Karka.
9The lords of twelve parts of a sign, the Dwadashamshas, are to be considered from the same sign. The lords of the Drekkanas, the three parts, of each sign are to be reckoned from the first, the fifth and the ninth from that sign. As far as Hora, one half of a sign, is concerned, in an odd sign the order is Sun-Moon, and in an even sign it is Moon-Sun.
10In odd signs, the Grahas Mars, Saturn, Jupiter, Mercury and Venus rule over the (five) Trimshamshas that respectively extend over 5, 5, 8, 7 and 5 degrees. In the even signs, the order of Trimshamsha lordship is reversed.
11Dwipada (biped) Rashi s are powerful in the east, Chatushpada (quadruped) ones in the south, Keeta (insects) in the west and Jalachara (those moving in water) Rashi s in the north. Keeta Rashi s are in strength both at dawn and dusk while Dwipada ones are in strength during the day and Chatushpada during the night.
12-13Mesha, Vrisha, Simha, latter half of Dhanu and first half of Makara are called as Chatushpada (quadruped) Rashi s; Karka and Vrishchika are called as Keeta (insect) or Sareesripa (reptile) Rashi s. Jalachara (those moving in water) Rashi s include the latter half of Makara and Meena. Dwipada (human or biped) Rashi s include Mithuna, Kanya, Tula, first half of Dhanu and Kumbha.
14A Rashi (sign) occupied or aspected by its own lord, or by Mercury or Jupiter, acquires strength, provided it is not occupied or aspected by any other Grahas.
15From the Lagna, the twelve houses are Tanu, Dhana, Sahaja, Suhrita, Suta, Ripu, Jaayaa, Mrityu, Dharma, Karma, Aaya and Vyaya. The fourth and the eighth are labelled as Chaturasra.
16The fourth house is called by the names Paataala, Hibuka, Veshma, Sukha and Bandhu (close relatives). The fifth and the ninth houses are called as Trikonas, while the ninth is (also) called as Tri-Trikona.
17The fifth house is called as Dhee, the third as Dushchikya, the seventh as Yaamitra, Dyoona or Dyuna, the eighth as Chhidra and the twelfth as Rishpha.
18Kendra, Chatushtaya and Kantaka are the terms used for the houses one, four, seven and ten. The next four houses from these are labelled as Panaphara, while the still next four are labelled as Aapokleema.
19The houses 3, 6, 10 and 11 are calledas Upachaya while the remaining ones are labelled otherwise. In the Rashi s Chara, etc., the Vargottama Navamshas happen to be (repeatedly) the first, the middle, and the last.
20Four Rashi s considered from Mesha, and Dhanu as well as Makara are strong during the night (the rest attain strength during the day). These, except Mithuna, rise by their rear ends. The remaining ones rise by their head ends. Meena rises both by the head and the rear.
21Mesha 10°, Vrisha 3°, Makara 28°, Kanya 15°, Karka 5°, Meena 27° and Tula 20° respectively are the points of exaltation for the seven Grahas from the Sun onwards.
22The seventh from the point of exaltation is the site of debilitation. The Trikonas (MoolaTrikonas) for the Sun, etc., are Simha, Vrisha, Mesha, Kanya, Dhanu, Tula and Kumbha.
23Of whichever Graha the Griha (Lagna), Hora, Drekkana, Navamsha, Dwadas-hamsha and 31 Trimshamsha have been mentioned, these (six) happen to be the Vargas of that Graha.